Who’s Last

And now – and at long last – my final post (at least for now) concerning Doctor Who and the awkward numbering situation of all his/her incarnations.

So: the order established as of the current date:

  1. William Hartnell
  2. Patrick Troughton
  3. Jon Pertwee
  4. Tom Baker
  5. Peter Davison
  6. Colin Baker
  7. Sylvester McCoy
  8. Paul McGann
  9. John Hurt
  10. Christopher Eccleston
  11. David Tennant
  12. David Tennant
  13. Matt Smith
  14. Peter Capaldi
  15. Jodie Whittaker

Note that John Hurt fits in between McGann and Eccleston, as mentioned on one of my previous posts. And also that David Tennant appears twice. Not a mistake in my list, but the result of his character’s regeneration back into himself after being shot by a Dalek.

However – officially, John Hurt has been designated the title ‘War Doctor’, meaning he doesn’t really have a number, and Tennant is only counted once. Meaning that the current practice of referring to Jodie Whattaker as the Thirteenth Doctor is approved of in BBC circles, and all is right with the world. The world of Who, that is.

And now I’ve put that to bed, hopefully my next posts will be something exciting I’m planning in the world of my writing. And, with luck, a lot more frequent than they have been so far.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s